Margin of Excellence recipients

The Bellevue College Foundation has announced their 2014 Margin of Excellence Award recipients. Each recipient was nominated by students, faculty, administrators, staff, and trustees for their commitment to excellence through contributions to the campus and community in the categories of full-time faculty, part-time faculty, and classified staff and one administrative exempt.  An award of $1,000 and a certificate will be distributed at the ceremony.

This year’s award winners are Classified Employee Vanessa Von Papp, Early Learning Center; Administrative Exempt Bill Hughes, Science Division; Part-Time Faculty Katherine Hunt, Social Science Division; Full-Time Faculty Jennie Mayer, Science Division. Dr. Dave Rule, BC president, makes a surprise visit to each of the four winners along with colleagues and those who made the nominations.

Susan Kingsbury-Comeau, business manager of the Bellevue College Foundation says that this year there were 21 nominees. The chosen winners were selected by nominations that were reviewed by a selection committee made up of BC Foundation board members. Faculty are rated on criteria such as being able to communicate knowledge of the subject they teach, motivating students to participate in the learning process, and teaching problem-solving skills. Some of the criteria staff and administrators are rated on include exemplary work performance, contributions to campus and leadership.

A ceremony will be held for the Margin of Excellence Awards on Feb. 5 from 2:45 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. at the Carlson Theatre.